Skip to content

Have You Ever Wondered How a Quilt Design Comes to Be?

June 24, 2018

Maybe you are already familiar with the 2018 Row by Row Experience. If not, I’ll try to give you a brief explanation. Since 2011 quilt shops across the United States, Canada, and Europe have joined together during the summer months to participate in a program to offer customers, who visit their shop, a free pattern. I have designed “rows” for several different shops the past few years but this year brought on a new challenge.

Eight of my local quilt shops in the Raleigh and Cary area of North Carolina decided to get together to create a quilt of rows which would go together to create one quilt design. When they asked me to design the quilt, I experienced many emotions, excited, honored, nervous, “What was I thinking!”, etc., you get my drift.

The theme for 2018 is Sew Musical, which could be interpreted in so many ways and if you know me at all, you realize that I am an “outside the box” kind of girl. It was nice to be able to focus in on one concept when the shop owners agreed on a Jimmy Buffett themed quilt.

RxR-2018
I started the designing process before Christmas. The biggest challenge was that the “rows” were actually blocks of specific sizes this year and I had to figure out how to get eight blocks of specific sizes to work together. Next, I came up with some sketches for design ideas and then needed to arrange them into a workable solution. You will notice that not all of my original ideas “made the cut”.
RxR-Drawings
In the end, and after many hours of reworking the design, I was able to come up with a workable solution. You may be able to recognize a few of the songs represented if you are a Buffett fan. If not, this would still make a great quilt for a beach house or for someone who simply loves the relaxation of being by the sea.

RxR Blocks Separated

The white lines show the separation of each of the rows/blocks and are not visible when they are sewn together.

You can collect your own free rows by visiting the participating shops listed here…
APQS – Thread Waggle Quilting
BERNINA World of Sewing
Carolina Sew-n-Vac (Raleigh)
Carolina Sew-n-Vac (Cary)
Cary Quilting Company
Elegant Stitches
My Sewing Shoppe
Wish Upon a Quilt

Each of these shops also have laser cut and regular fabric kits available for purchase.

After the RxR Experience is over, on November 1st, I will have the full pattern available on my website for purchase.

I will also be offering this as a class next June on a cruise with Royal Caribbean’s Harmony of the Seas, June 16-23, 2019. Save your spot today by contacting Dawn Olmstead at QuiltandCruise.com.

Charge up your GPS and have fun collecting Rows on your travels this summer! Maybe I will see you in passing!

Signature for Blog

Sandy Fitzpatrick

Hissyfitz Designs

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Marie Flood permalink
    June 24, 2018 10:12 pm

    Sandy, what size is this quilt when it is finished.

    Marie Flood
    Flood Realty Group, Inc
    Broker
    305-394-3923
    Fax 305-394-3923

  2. Sherr Hubbs permalink
    June 24, 2018 10:48 pm

    Sandy it looks great. Wish I still lived in Raleigh so I could collect the rows there. Will look forward to November when your pattern is available. I do the rows here in Arizona. Picked my first row up yesterday. I was the winner at the quilt store in Williams AZ last year. Went to San Antonio Texas to visit my daughter and we hit 12 stores in her area. It is so much fun collecting the patterns. Some rows I have given away as table runners. Sherri Hubbs

    • June 25, 2018 3:47 pm

      Thanks Sherri, great to hear from you! Sounds like you are staying busy, I’m sure you are constantly sewing!

  3. Lee permalink
    June 25, 2018 3:40 pm

    LOVE it!!! Should have known you’d come up with something spectacular!!!!! Amazing talent.

  4. Nancy Page permalink
    December 8, 2018 11:40 am

    I can’t get to your website. My antivirus program is telling me that you have malware on your website. Just trying to let you know.

    • December 8, 2018 11:52 am

      Thanks Nancy, I’m in the process of updating my webpage so I’ve taken it offline for a day. Hopefully, it will be back up and running soon.

Leave a comment