Skip to content

Aurifil Love

May 12, 2017

Does it get better than this?! Today I am thrilled to announce that I have been selected as an Aurifil Artisan! I’ve had a love affair with this wonderful thread for many years and have been using it exclusively ever since I discovered it. The quality is unsurpassed in my book, strong, lint-free, fantastic colors, and my BERNINA sewing machine absolutely loves it.

What an honor to be included in such a great group of likewise quilters, crafters, bag-makers, designers, and sewists throughout the world.

If you have taken a class from me, then you probably already know about this thread as I have been preaching about its qualities for years. If you haven’t tried it yet, I encourage you to give it a try.

My husband and I took a trip to Italy a little over a year ago and, although it wasn’t on our original itinerary, we took a train to Milan to visit the Aurifil headquarters

 

This is me with Elena Gregotti and her Dad, Angelo Gregotti, the founder of Aurifil thread and Studio Auriga.

 

Now this is a priceless shot! Look at all that wonderful Aurifil thread! Oh, and those three great guys in the foreground too.

Alexander, Bradley and Alex


Did you know that you can use Aurifil thread for embroidery too?


So, I’ll just be doing my little “happy dance” for awhile here! I hope you will join me in my celebration.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Diann permalink
    May 12, 2017 1:59 pm

    Congratulations, Sandy….you are an artist and are well deserving of this recognition.👏

  2. Susi permalink
    May 12, 2017 2:42 pm

    Congratulations! I saw the post earlier. I live in small town AZ – so I guess I need to find Aurifil thread online – can you tell me the best source for someone on a tight budget. Is it better to buy a few spools or a collection? Thanks for responding!

    • May 12, 2017 3:34 pm

      Susi, it depends on what your project is. If you are a quilter who loves to piece quilts, then I would recommend purchasing the larger spools in white, grey and taupe because they will blend with many fabrics. If you like to do appliqué, you can purchase smaller spools in several colors to start a collection. For embroidery, I would suggest the larger spools in several colors. The price of Aurifil is comparable to other brands of thread when you consider the amount of yardage on a spool and the quality is excellent! If you purchase a collection, the colors are predetermined for you so just make sure the collection you choose has the colors you need and love.

      I’m sure the online sources who carry Aurifil all offer it at the same price.
      Best of luck!

  3. May 12, 2017 11:11 pm

    So excited to have you Sandy!

Leave a Reply

