Skip to content

Tennesee Mountain Quiltfest

March 25, 2017

What a great week we have had in Pigeon Forge, TN at the Mountain Quiltfest! This is my first time visiting this lovely little city and I must admit I was a little surprised at all the opportunities for entertainment along the way. Dinner shows of every kind, ferris wheels and roller coasters, and great restaurants galore.

The hospitality in this area is unbeatable and what a wonderful time I have had vending and teaching at the Quiltfest. My machine appliqué class on Thursday evening included 20 eager students. Although they were a little tired from previous shopping and classes all day, they still managed to come with the enthusiasm and curiosity that makes for a great class.

Sometimes people come into my booth who have never done appliqué before and are scared of the process. I do my best to walk them through the process to ease their fears. Often times, I’m successful, sometimes though they are still resistant. So, it was such a surprise Friday afternoon, just before the close of the day, that four sisters returned to my booth to show me what they had accomplished overnight.

Ellen Hellen BobbieThese ladies came into my booth on Thursday and fell in love with my giraffe quilt, My Favorite Earrings. They hesitantly purchased the kit and came back later in the day to ask a few questions on what they should do to get started. I gave them a quick little tutorial on tracing out their pattern pieces onto Heat ‘n Bond Lite and using an appliqué press sheet.

Imagine my surprise today when they returned to my booth to show me a photo of the progress they had made overnight! Three of the sisters worked together and stayed up until 2:00 am tracing, cutting and fusing until they had both giraffes ready for the final fusing to the background fabric. Now, all they have left to do is the stitching around the individual pieces.

You know how much I love seeing the projects that you guys make from my patterns! This was especially exciting for me to see the pride and sense of accomplishment that these ladies had achieved.

Congratulations to Ellen, Helen, and Bobbie for a job well done!

Signature for Blog

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jan Kitchen permalink
    March 25, 2017 9:55 am

    That is wonderful, Sandy. You are such an inspiration. My friend and I purchased the giraffe pattern from you a year ago in Daytona and have been slowly collecting fabrics for each of us to make one.

  2. Shirley permalink
    March 25, 2017 10:58 am

    Happy Birthday week (3/29) baby sister!

Leave a Reply

