Skip to content

Amping Up the Travel and Stitching

October 22, 2016

It’s been a whirlwind of traveling, vending, lecturing and workshops the last couple of months and I’m finally able to sit down at the computer long enough to share it with you! In September I attending the AQS Chattanooga show to vend and teach. The show quilts were spectacular again this year and I particularly loved the display of Lion King Challenge quilts made from Cherrywood fabrics.

Lion King Challenge

I had the privilege to teach Free-Motion Quilting to an incredible group of ladies and gentleman and it was such a pleasure to be able to teach in a classroom where my favorite BERNINA sewing machines were provided.

 

Chattanooga Free-Motion

 

Free-Motion Fun

The last week of September found me on my annual trip to the beach with my Mom and four sisters. Sorry no photo of us “hot babes” on the beach! This is a trip we have been doing for a number of years and I think this was our tenth trip together. Since we are spread far and wide, it is a great opportunity to get together and “catch up”. There is definitely a lot of laughter and fun during our time together.

After I returned home I had a few days to prepare for a workshop and a lecture in Little Rock for the Arkansas Quilter’s Guild. Just look at what these wonderful ladies accomplished!

 

Arkansas Quilter's Guild

 

Gorgeous Gourds

 

Lecturing

I traveled on to Benton, AR the following day to teach another Machine Appliqué class to the Saline County Quilt Guild and found myself among another fantastic group of ladies, so eager to learn. Not only did they learn some great techniques to make their machine appliqué easier, on the second day of the workshops we experimented with wire, bleach pens, and all kinds of fun stitches to create texture on future projects with my Amped Up Appliqué class.

A Spot of Tea

Frog Days of Summer

Working HardConcentration

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Amped Up Applique

 

All in all, it has been a wonderful few weeks. There is just something to be said about doing what you love and teaching it to others. Nothing better than experiencing the thrill of accomplishment along with an eager student! I hope you are able to spend some quality time with your new creations soon!

Sandy

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

