Skip to content

…and They Made Skirts!

August 27, 2015

K & E skirts
I’m sure you will agree that it has been a really fast summer! I know that, as the years fly by, time seems to move so quickly. We had such fun visiting with all of our children and grandkiddos this summer and even had the opportunity to have two of the grandgirls spend a week with us. The last time they visited I introduced them to the sewing machine and we made small baby quilts by sewing squares together. Kate, age 8, decided she could do it herself and managed to sew all the squares and rows together to create her first little quilt. Emma, age 6, was perfectly content to watch me stitch her squares together and they both went home with their own original quilts.

All of our grandchildren live far away so we don’t see them nearly as often as we’d like so when the girls came to visit a couple of weeks ago I had a new plan for them. They do not like to wear shorts or pants so I thought we’d tackle making skirts. I told them they could “shop” in my fabric stash and surely find something they would like. I have tons of novelty prints and was sure they could decide on something quickly. Big mistake…for one thing these girls don’t decide on things quickly. Apparently this was a big deal and they wanted to make sure they got the perfect fabric for their new creations. It probably took a good half hour for them to find exactly what they wanted to use.

Now, I don’t know if you are like me, but there are a few fabrics that I have been hanging onto for quite sometime because I love them and just didn’t want to cut them up. Apparently these two little girls have equally good taste because they managed to find the only yardage I had of Laurel Burch fabric and decided “This is the ONE”! I would never have let my own daughters use such a coveted piece of “no longer in print” fabric but being the sucker grandmother (Honey) that I am, I caved. I told them they needed a coordinating fabric to go with this beautiful piece and that, fortunately, was easy to find as I do have my fair share of stripes in all colors and sizes.

I set up my new BERNINA 380, threaded the machine, and showed them how to use it. They are very fast learners!

The plan was to make this skirt as easy to sew as possible so I just measured around their hips and used that measurement plus 13″ to determine how wide to cut the fabric. Next, we determined what the length should be, they wanted them long, so we came up with a final length measurement and then deducted about 4″ from that because we were going to add a contrasting band to the bottom of the skirts. The contrasting fabric was cut 5″ by the width of the fabric and trimmed to the same measurement as the skirt width.

K hands close-up
These were so easy to make, first we sewed the contrasting band to the bottom of the skirt, right sides together. I made sure to use lots of pins to keep the fabrics lined up for stitching but laid out the rules right away that “you never sew over a pin, always take them out just as you get to them”. Next we stitched the back seam, finished off the edge, turned up the hem and put an elastic casing in the top.

K sewing
Kate’s excitement grew with each step, and she even loved using the iron to press the seams and hem. I know, I know, that too will wear off someday. She now has visions of going home and making skirts for all her friends!

Both girls were so thrilled with their new creations. Although the original plan was for each of the girls to make their own skirts, Emma was a little intimidated by the machine and decided that she would wait “until next time” to try to sew.

If you need a quick and fun project to do with your own children or grandchildren I highly recommend introducing them to the hobby that you love!

Eek, ants!
Eeek, ANTS!!!

Signature Red

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2015 4:41 pm

    Really enjoyed reading this, warmed my heart! One of my founded memories was learning to sew with my grandmother too, thank you for sharing 🙂

  2. Elyse DeWyngaert permalink
    August 27, 2015 6:44 pm

    Sandy I thoroughly enjoyed your project time with your granddaughters. Great memories for them and you.
    Completely can relate to the fabric stash and the ones that are so wonderful, too many ideas for using them, and the feeling not yet.
    Give my love to all.

  3. jwsavint@yahoo.com permalink
    August 27, 2015 7:31 pm

    Great job girls. Good Honey!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  4. Valerie permalink
    August 27, 2015 9:46 pm

    I’m sure you had a brilliant time with your grandchildren and such beautiful children,memories they will keep forever, thanks for sharing, Valerie x

Leave a Reply

