Skip to content

Three Down, Four to Go!

August 31, 2014

Emma and her quilt

I’m sure you’ve heard the saying, “The cobbler’s children have no shoes.” This is a phrase that is well known around our house when it comes to getting something done that is sewing or quilt related.

As a quilt designer you would think that my children and grandchildren would be unable to move in their beds at night from the weight of all the quilts I have made for them, right?! Ha, unfortunately this isn’t even close to reality. My own children do indeed have quilts or wallhangings which I made for them many years ago, before I even started designing quilts. When my two daughters got married, the plan was to make a quilt for each new grandchild as they came along. This worked pretty well for the first couple. Kate received a quilt designed especially for her, which resulted in my Cutie Patootie pattern. Jackson followed shortly thereafter and so did his quilt, which eventually became the Action Jackson pattern.

However, the grandchildren didn’t end there. Both of my girls continued having babies and now I am WAY behind on the quilts. Kate now has two sisters, Emma is five and Claire is two, and Jackson now has three brothers, four year old Gavin, and two year old twin brothers Ryan and Dylan.

It would certainly be easier to accomplish my goal of supplying quilts to each of these kiddos if I could simply go to my local quilt shop and pick a pattern from the rack. However, my girls seem to think that each of these wonderful children deserves their own original quilt designed by “Honey”, and I must admit that I agree with them.

Poor Emma has been waiting patiently for her quilt for several years now. I had been working on it sporadically but just hadn’t set aside the time to get it finished, until recently. The layout is similar to Cutie Patootie except that it is upside down, I didn’t feel the need to “reinvent the wheel” here. The designs inside the blocks are all different except for the monkeys. I’d originally planned something else for that particular block, but one of Emma’s favorite things is monkeys, so I just used the block from Jackson’s quilt instead.

Emma's-Quilt

This summer we had a great time with the grandgirls as they stayed at our house for two weeks while their parents went to Europe. Before they arrived, I had finished the quilt top and had it layered and pinned for quilting. While they were here, I would find a few free minutes now and then to sit down at my machine for some free-motion quilting. The girls knew that I was working on Emma’s quilt and I had promised her that it would be finished in time for her to take it home with her. One day Emma stood watching me as I was stitching away on the quilt and she said, “Honey, can you just stay up all night until you are finished?” Well, that didn’t happen but I was able to have it ready for her by the time she left.

Emma was pretty excited about her new quilt. Courtney, my daughter, said that she was showing it off to her friends the following week and she overheard her say, “This is the quilt that Honey made for me. She’s old, but she’s not dead.”

Ha ha, aren’t kids great!

Signature Red

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Inas Harrison permalink
    August 31, 2014 4:16 pm

    I just hope my children never discover your blog, they will think I am supposed to follow. I not only would be old but I would be dead. Sister I

  2. Sue O'Brien permalink
    August 31, 2014 6:56 pm

    So inspired by your talent, Sandy! Lucky grandchildren!
    Sue

  3. Whiskers permalink
    September 6, 2014 12:15 pm

    I need an “Emma”. I’m feeling old AND dead.

Leave a Reply

