Skip to content

Spring Market in Portland

May 30, 2013

What a great time I had at Spring Market! Portland is a wonderful city and I wish I had gone a few days early to be able to experience more of it. Since I actually arrived at midnight (Eastern time) I started out a little on the tired side. Let me tell you, it’s not easy carrying everything you need for your booth in two suitcases on a plane! I shipped out boxes of patterns and kits, as well, but this is what my booth looked like when I arrived.
My booth in Portland
After a lot of effort and many trips climbing up and down on a ladder, it finally came together.
Hissyfitz Designs in Portland
There were so many other wonderful booths to see. Since I arrived early each day, I took a few pictures of other great booths.
Pat Bravo
Mo Bidell

Placa Zen Chic

Ric Rac BoothGotta love this cute little dress made from selvedge edges in the Ric Rac booth!

Stella LightingI had great neighbors across the aisle from me in the Stella Lighting booth. From left to right are Marshall Collins, Janessa Bruce, Michael McCormick, and Nathan Wiedenmann. Let me tell you, these guys and their lights are amazing! The lights are LED so they never get hot, there are three different settings, warm, natural, and cool to meet all your lighting needs and each of these settings can be dimmed to your specifications to make just the perfect amount and style of lighting you prefer to work on your particular projects. Since there is no bulb to burn out, these lights last for over 50,000 hours of use. As I listened to their spiel throughout the show I decided that I had to have these lights. The task light for my desk followed me home and the floor light, called Stella Sky is on order and I can’t wait to have it in my sewing studio!

A couple of highlights from the show were that I added a new distributor to those that carry my patterns. I am very happy to say that Checker Distributors was added to my list.

Checker Sign

And I was excited to see that my block “Cuppity Cake” was on the flyer being distributed to potential designers who may want to add their block to an upcoming issue of 100 Blocks Magazine.

100 Blocks Flyer

All in all, it was a very successful market for me. I loved meeting new shop owners and it was a joy to see current customers as well. I came home with a head full of new ideas and am anxious to get them down on paper.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

