Skip to content

Tweet!

October 12, 2012

I’m excited to debut one of my newest patterns called Tweet! I’ve been sewing and designing like a madwoman trying to get new patterns ready for publication and this one is so much fun. Tweet started out as a one block design which I created for an applique class at Bernina World of Sewing in Raleigh. Sometimes I have a hard time “leaving well enough alone” and decided to add a couple more blocks to make a larger wallhanging.
What fun I had sewing the appliques and free-motion quilting this beauty with Aurifil thread. I’ve used Auriful off and on for a few years, but have now become a die-hard convert. This is such a great thread because you get so much on a spool and it is practically lint-free. I can wind a bobbin with the 50 wt and sew much longer without running out of bobbin thread. Plus, since there is practically no lint, that means less time on machine maintenance and more time for stitching fun!


This bright, clean wallhanging is perfect to brighten up any area. The appliques are simple and the limited amount of piecing is fun. For free-motion quilting, I simply echo quilted around the applique designs and did a little more swirly, funky design in the pieced areas. If you are looking for a simple applique design with a lot of punch, this is it! Order it here!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandra Aiken permalink
    October 12, 2012 7:36 pm

    I love all your designs. You have a God given talent that is used so well. I also love the Aurifil threads also. I would love to have one in every color. Please continue to devote your talent to making the world more beautiful.

    • October 12, 2012 10:06 pm

      Thanks, Sandra, it’s always good to hear that people appreciate my designs. I do it because I love it and if someone else gets enjoyment it’s “icing on the cake”!

  2. October 16, 2012 9:01 am

    Beautiful Sandy–are you using a sewing machine to do your free motion and if so–wow–you are doing a great job! Hear your Mom has a new home??

  3. October 16, 2012 2:12 pm

    Yep, Janna, everything is done on a domestic sewing machine. No room in my house for a long arm, though it would be nice! Mama is loving her new “digs” and wondering why she didn’t do it sooner. Lots of activities for her and good food, which she really needs.

  4. Anne Stewart permalink
    October 18, 2012 7:36 pm

    I have never heard of Aurifil. Did you say you can put it in the bobbin and top stitch with it too? I will have to look for it at my local quilt store!

    • October 18, 2012 8:04 pm

      Yes, Anne, it is really wonderful thread. It comes in several different weights, I like the 50 wt because it’s not too heavy and doesn’t scream, “Look at me!” when I use it. It plays well with the fabrics I use and blends in nicely. It’s also great if you like to do hand work. If your local quilt shop doesn’t carry it, I’m sure you can order it online.

Leave a Reply

