Skip to content

Screening “Stitch”

October 1, 2012

Recently, while working on some new applique designs, I came up with a sewing/quilting design called, “Stitch”.  As I was working through the process I thought it would make a great design for the front of a t-shirt.  It is a simple, clean, and modern design, something I would wear, so I thought I’d see if anyone else might like it too.

It just so happens that my son, Joe, has started designing and screen printing t-shirts so I asked him for a little help and he agreed.  Let me tell you, this is no easy process. First I made the design then turned it over to Joe who printed it on transparency film and then “burned” the design into a silk screen by placing it in a dark room for several hours.  Once that was done, it had to be hosed off with water and then dried with a hairdryer.

Next, we set up a screen printing station in my kitchen and printed each shirt manually, one at a time.  After drying overnight, they had to be heat pressed and are now ready to go.

Since they are white shirts printed with black ink, they will basically go with anything. However, they can certainly be jazzed up with a little fabric paint or markers.

I will be vending at the Splash of Color quilt show in Cabarrus, NC this coming weekend so I will be able to see how they sell then.  If you are in the area, come on by!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Lori in NC permalink
    October 1, 2012 3:12 pm

    Those are lovely. I’m itching to take a red fabric marker to the tomato, and yellow to the measuring tape. Or maybe I would just tie-dye the whole thing!

  2. Sandra Aiken permalink
    October 1, 2012 6:11 pm

    Are you going to make some in a xxxl or xxxxl size? I love the design. The door is wide open for goods to be the stitch design on.

    • October 1, 2012 10:54 pm

      Sandra, so glad you like it! This is a first for me so I ordered shirts in M, L, XL, and 2XL. If you are interested in a larger size I’ll be sure to order them in the future. Let me know which you prefer.

  3. Marlene permalink
    October 1, 2012 9:25 pm

    Sandy, Love this design. How about on mugs? Good luck with the show this weekend.
    Marlene

  4. October 1, 2012 10:45 pm

    love it!

    ________________________________

  5. October 2, 2012 9:13 am

    These look awesome!! I know they will be a huge success!!!

  6. mary obrien permalink
    October 2, 2012 10:14 pm

    I love them sandy. I have a friend who is an avid quilter and I would get one for her.( if not for me). I will check with her on size…she likes oversize shirts then you will have to tell me how you priced them out… I know you prob will do well at fair and with your new patterns. Tell Joe what a great production line you two made!!!!!!!!!! Yahoo.. creativity

    • October 2, 2012 11:51 pm

      Thanks Mary, they run small so she may need the next size up. I normally wear a medium but after washing a large, it fits fine.

  7. Robin Pinchback permalink
    October 28, 2012 9:06 pm

    Are these available? I’d like to purchase one!

    • October 28, 2012 10:51 pm

      Robin, I have them with me in Houston at Quilt Market but if you let me know what size you need I’ll save one for you. I have Med, Large, XL and 2X.

  8. thunder permalink
    November 6, 2012 3:49 pm

    are you going to sell these at your web site with the patterns ? very nice design.

    I just found you through the 100 blocks blog hop, and you bookmarked for future purchase.

Leave a Reply

