Skip to content

It’s Not Always Work!

February 25, 2012

 I always come away rejuvenated after teaching a class and Friday was no exception. The free-motion class I taught at Bernina World of Sewing was such fun with a lively group of ladies so eager to pick up some new tips.

Sometimes I get so bogged down with paperwork and the business aspect of trying to have a design business that I forget to take the time to sew and enjoy what got me into this business in the first place!

I took some time this past week to actually sit down at my machine and have a little fun. Ahhh, there’s nothing like the feeling of pride and accomplishment when you are actually working on a project and seeing it develop before your eyes.

Since I recently refolded all my fabric and have it in shelves that I can actually see everything now, it was so much easier to find just the right fabrics to pull together for a block.

Image

Granted, my sewing room soon turned into a disaster area as I began to pull and audition fabrics and then proceed to cut them up but what fun I had in the process.

Time management is a real challenge for me but I’m slowly getting a little better at it. I’ve signed up to take a class next week to help me get my act together. Hopefully I will be able to schedule more time with my machine and actually see these designs bouncing around in my head come to life!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathleen permalink
    February 25, 2012 5:39 pm

    I love the way the new shelf looks! So neat!

  2. Sandra Aiken permalink
    February 25, 2012 9:10 pm

    I love the way your new shelf works and did you build it that way? Did you use the cube system or what did you use? It is exactly what I want to put in my sewing room, so I can see all my fabrics. They are currently in plastic containers that I can’t see thru and then I have to move the big containers and I am physically worn out trying to pull together a project. I saw a nice 12 cube system today that was wider than the normal cube system from Ikea today and it had a big area and I know it will work, but it is only sold in the Charlotte store and was told it was fairly inexpensive $150.00. Unless it was free would be better. I miss seeing all your good works.

    • February 25, 2012 11:17 pm

      Hey Sandra, so good to hear from you. The shelving unit is from Ikea, the Expedit Series. I purchased the larger unit that has 5 x 5 cubes and then an additional tower unit to match. LOVE IT! I can see everything so clearly now and it is so much easier to choose fabrics. We drove to Charlotte to get them. The larger unit sells for $199 but they offered a “Family” price of $179. Basically you just have to fill out info at the kiosk when you get there to get an Ikea membership card. You may want to check if the “Family” price is still in effect. I do miss seeing all my friends at Bernina, maybe I’ll run into you there one day!

  3. Courtney permalink
    February 26, 2012 6:13 pm

    Wow!! It’s so pretty! I wouldn’t want to mess with any of the fabrics…just look at them :O) Glad you found a system that can help make your life easier!!

Leave a Reply

