Skip to content

Myrtle Beach in January!?

January 17, 2012

Image

Yep, as cold as it was, I spent the weekend in Myrtle Beach. However, I never even laid eyes on the actual beach or the ocean because I was vending at the Myrtle Beach Quilt Party. Lots of ladies taking classes and enjoying the quilts and vendors.

One of the highlights was when sisters Debbie and Mardelle came by to show me the quilt that Debbie had made. She bought the Flamingo Frolics pattern at last year’s show. Image

She told me at that time that she wasn’t a quilter but was an avid scrapbooker and cross-stitcher. Mardelle is the brains behind the Myrtle Beach Quilt Party and Debbie decided to make the flamingo quilt as a surprise to present to her this year. Debbie even scrapbooked the whole process from shopping for fabric to the quilt’s final stitches.

Image

Image

Image

When presented with the quilt on “Show and Tell” night apparently Mardelle was speechless to find that her sister had finally made her first quilt! I was thrilled that Debbie chose one of my patterns as her first project. She said she is “hooked” now and plans to make some of my other patterns which she had previously purchased.

There were some great quilts on display by the teachers….

Image

Image

After a long drive home on Saturday night I was ready for a nice cup of hot tea. Boy was I surprised when my DH opened the refrigerator and brought out a delicious coconut cake that he had made for me!

Image

In all of our 34 years of marriage this was the first cake he had ever made! He knew that coconut was my favorite and I had recently acquired the recipe from one of our bee members, thanks Carol! If you are a big fan of coconut as well, here is the scrumptious recipe from allrecipes.com. 

1 (16 ounce) package white cake mix

1 (14 ounce) can cream of coconut

1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk

1 (16 ounce) container frozen whipped topping, thawed

1 (10 ounce) package flaked coconut

Prepare cake according to package directions. Bake in a 9 x 13 inch pan or in two layer pans. Cool completely. In a small bowl combine cream of coconut and condensed milk. Poke holes in cake with a straw. Pour milk mixture over cake and spread with whipped topping. Sprinkle coconut over cake. Serve chilled.

Delicious!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Shron permalink
    January 29, 2012 3:56 pm

    I love all the pictures! Debbie’s quilt is wonderful. Mardelle, you are truly blessed with such a loving sis!!!!

    Love, Sharon

  2. Sharon permalink
    January 29, 2012 3:56 pm

    Sorry I can’t spell my own name!!!

Leave a Reply

