Skip to content

Spring Festival and Springtime in the Carolinas

April 23, 2011

It’s been a busy few weeks for me as I drove to Cincinnati at the beginning of April to vend at Spring Festival and then last week had a booth at the Springtime in the Carolinas quilt show in Rutherfordton, NC.

The trip to Cincinnati was great fun as I had a friend come along with me to help me in my booth. None other than Laura Martell of  The Creative Thimble! When I mentioned that I was looking for someone to help me in my booth she graciously volunteered and we had a great time and shared a lot of laughs. As we were sitting in the booth at the show, we were like stalkers watching the crowds come and go. We were actually keeping an eye out for bags made from Laura’s patterns and would call the people into the booth to compliment them on their wonderful creations and to introduce them to Laura as the designer of their particular bag pattern.

What great reactions we were able to see! Everyone was thrilled to be able to meet the actual designer and often wanted their picture taken with Laura. One lady was so excited because her friend had actually made the Professional Tote she was carrying and she called her friend right from our booth to let her know she was standing there looking at Laura. By the end of that conversation she had tears in her eyes. It was a great photo op which we kindly took with her camera so I, unfortunately, don’t have a picture of that moment.

I do, however, have a photo of a great quilt by Barb Kelly.  She came into my booth and told me about the quilt she had made from my giraffe pattern, My Favorite Earrings. Barb explained that it was the first quilt she had ever made and that she had so much fun watching it come together. She said she actually got up in the middle of the night to go in and admire her work and to see the personality develop in the mama giraffe during the process. How exciting it is to hear that something you create as a pattern can bring smiles to the faces of the customer as they make it themselves. I was especially pleased to hear that it was her first quilt and she felt it was so easy to accomplish!

My show last weekend was a little more low key but still a great time with the ladies of the Rutherford Quilt Guild. It was the first year for them to have a quilt show and they did an excellent job of putting on a great show with lots of gorgeous quilts to admire and a great variety of vendors.

I’m currently planning my next big trip, leaving on May 4 to fly to Laramie, WY with Janice Pope of Anything But Boring, where I will be teaching a full day workshop on free-motion quilting at Quilt Essentials. It will be a full weekend with a trunk show on Friday night, school house sessions on Saturday and the workshop on Monday. Janice will be offering a class on her Two Hour Tulip purse and Mary Corcoran, formerly of Raleigh but now living in Laramie, will be offering a class as well. Mary has recently published a gorgeous pattern featuring seasonal oak leaves which will be debuting at Market.  After Laramie, we will drive to Salt Lake City for Spring Market. I’m looking forward to the excitement that Market brings.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 22, 2011 6:50 pm

    How cool is that! Someone’s first quilt was yours!! Glad you had fun!!

Leave a Reply

