Skip to content

New Beginnings!

January 3, 2011

It’s a new year with lots of possibilities just around the corner.  I love to start off the new year with things a little more organized than they were the last hectic weeks of December.  My goal is to try to simplify, simplify, simplify…..we’ll see how successful I am at this!  Today I worked in our home office to try to make it a little easier to actually sit down and get some work done.   Things look much better, now I just have to start shredding the four boxes of paper which were stashed in the corner for the last few months by my DH. 

I love to clear out the clutter, unfortunately I am married to a man who believes in hanging on to each and every thing he ever owned.  Don’t get me started on the fact that he still has the leather outfit from his Davy Crockett doll which he had as a child (FYI the Davy Crockett doll is no where to be seen.)   We also won’t mention the deer antlers that we have in the garage mounted on a piece of plywood, but not hanging up, which were given to him by an acquaintance when he was a child, or the ziplock bag stashed in the closet that contains old childhood memorabilia.  Keep in mind, he did not kill the deer, but for some reason has a difficult time letting them go.  His idea of organizing is moving everything to a more consolidated position and not getting rid of much.  My idea, on the other hand, is to sort, toss, and donate as much as possible.  Just because it was given to you doesn’t mean that you are obligated to keep it for the rest of your life.  I’m sure there is someone out there who would love the bobble-hipped hula dancer or the cute little statue dressed in aquamarine flowing robes to represent your birth month.  I love the look of an empty space on the bookshelf and don’t feel the need to have every little space occupied.

My sewing room on the other hand, is a different story.  No matter how hard I try to keep things neat and orderly, it is virtually impossible.  I simply chalk this up to the fact that you can’t be creative and neat at the same time.

I learned a long time ago not to make New Year’s resolutions.  My goal, however, is to try to weed out more of the junk that seems to be taking up too much space.  It used to be a little easier to get rid of things when we moved every three years with the Air Force.  However, living in the same house for ten years has certainly taken its toll.

Here’s to hoping you accomplish your new goals in the new year too!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. kindergartenteacherclaire permalink
    January 3, 2011 5:37 pm

    sorry, your DH got the ‘save’ gene from his mother:)

  2. January 3, 2011 7:30 pm

    I guess I get the saving everything from my dad. ha ha !! I am hoping to organize more this year also. I think that the upcoming move may light a fire under me. I really like the boxes that you chose.

  3. January 3, 2011 11:47 pm

    Glad I got the “get rid of it all” gene from you :O) I love this photo! Makes me want to get out my label maker!!!

  4. Mary Fitzpatrick O'Brien permalink
    February 12, 2011 10:44 pm

    Not l00% sure whether mom/dad had the gene, but remember my mother NEVER!!!!!!!!!! had to move once!!!! I have the donate, toss, pass on , shred gene, NOw. I finally passed on school stuff ( after 5 years retired) to my sister now teaching first grade. I really tossed a lot or passed on before I left the classroom. Now that I am between two houses, things can easily accumulate in two places. Someone once told me if you are not sure, move it tagged with date to attic, then toss after certain amt of time. Or take a picture of it and toss. That was hard to do with somethings, but I dont miss them and didnt plan on hanging them on walls. just getting to your site,Sandy.

  5. Mary Fitzpatrick O'Brien permalink
    February 12, 2011 10:46 pm

    MOre….I still need to learn how to organize files better. Any volunteers.

Leave a Reply

