Skip to content

Christmas Candles

December 10, 2010

Another Christmas tradition in our family is putting the Christmas candles in all the windows.  This is as far as I go when it comes to lighting up the house for the holidays.  Sorry, no inflatable Santas, Snoopys, or Snow Globes on my front lawn.  There was a time when we hung green pine garland with white lights up one side of the front door, over the huge arched window above it and down the other side.  This would require getting out the 25 foot extension ladder and having my husband or my then teenage son climb the ladder which was precariously balanced on the front steps and leaning against the house just above the arched window above the door.  It was usually a knuckle biting experience on my part as all I could think about would be the ladder slipping and the person on top of the ladder crashing through the upstairs window.  I think DH and DS were both relieved when I decided, a few years ago, that it wasn’t worth risking life and limb just to add a few more lights to the front of the house.

These window candles have been in our family, and glowing at Christmastime in our windows, for over 30 years.  I know there are more beautiful candles around these days but it’s just not that easy getting rid of something like this.  Our kiddos used to complain when I would call out every evening, “Go plug in the lights!”  We’ve gotten wise the past few years and now have all of them on timers, wish we’d thought of that years ago as it would have stopped all the complaining of, “It’s not my turn, I did it last night!”

I’m still working to improve my photos by participating in Courtney’s Click it Up a Notch tutorials.  This week I learned that it takes a lot of photos and a lot of camera adjustments to get just what you are looking for.  Shutter 1/30, Aperture f18, ISO 1600.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2010 7:00 am

    You know I have these exact candles too!! Love the reflection in the window and the subtle starbursts! Greata job!

  2. December 11, 2010 10:16 am

    Beautiful photo and a wonderful tradition!

  3. December 12, 2010 11:57 am

    Your photo is so crisp and sharp, nice! Over the years, I, too, have be gone to enjoy the simple things about Christmas. My home isn’t decorated nearly as much, a tree and a few of my favorite Santas inside, and a wreath on the outside door. So much less stress and more time to enjoy family and friends.

Leave a Reply

