Skip to content

Houston Market

November 18, 2010

I took the big jump and had a booth at Quilt Market in Houston, Tx from October 30 through November 1.  If you aren’t familiar with Market, it’s the place to go to try and sell your patterns to quilt shops across the nation and even internationally.  Shop owners come from all over for a few days of shopping to buy new patterns, books, fabric, and notions to carry in their shops.

I was a little nervous, occasionally thinking, “What in world am I doing? How do I know that people will really like my patterns? What if no one buys anything?!” (It was a long drive from North Carolina and I had a lot of time to think.) It had been one of those “someday I’m going to do this” things on my List.  With a little encouragement from the home front I decided this was the year to give it a try and I am so glad I did!  It was a great opportunity to show my stuff and get the affirmation I needed to keep designing more patterns.

I was fortunate to have friends to share a room with, go to dinner with and just have fun with! They introduced me to a GREAT TexMex restaurant called Ninfa’s and we ate at the original Ninfa’s on Navigation every night!  I know, I know, that seemed a little strange to me at first but the food was so good and there was such a variety on the menu that you really didn’t have to repeat a meal unless you really wanted to.  I must admit I had the enchiladas with mole’ more than once.

Thank goodness for Garmins.  If I had tried to find my way around Houston without this navigation system I would still be stuck in traffic!  We stayed a few extra days after Market to attend Quilt Festival and view all the wonderful award winning quilts in the show.

Debbie Caffrey was in the booth directly across from me, she looked so cute dressed as Robin Hood on Halloween.  Debbie was a wealth of knowledge to any questions I had as a “newbie”.

Barry Beardslee brought a smile to everyone as he “flashed” his samples of Presencia Threads.

How exciting for Janice, Sonja, and Mary to see the quilt they worked on with friends.  This gorgeous quilt was entered into the “Group” category.

More gorgeous quilts from the show…

These amazing quilts were just a small part of the incredible quilt show during Quilt Festival.  Such an amazing group of talented quilt artists and very humbling to the rest of us.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

