Skip to content

Waiting for Joe

October 10, 2010

In an effort to improve my photos I continue to follow Courtney’s blog, Click It Up a Notch! I’m posting this one for Picture Share this week. Marley actually belongs to our son, Joe, and she patiently waits for his return. I intentionally cut off the back and bottom of her head, my camera settings were SS 1/13, Aperture 4.50, and ISO 400.  If you want to improve your photos, come on over and join in.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2010 9:15 pm

    I have 2 black labs and I know just how difficult it can be to capture them correctly while indoors. You’ve done fantistic job. Her eyes are gorgeous and you’ve truly captured the “longing/wondering look” she is expressing while stareing out the door.

    You mentioned you intentionally cut off the top and back her head, I think it looks awesome. The only thing I might have liked is to see her chin.

    The color and compostion are fabulous!

    • October 10, 2010 10:57 pm

      Thanks Trish, I did have another one that shows her full head but thought this one worked for the composition theme this week.

  2. October 11, 2010 2:38 am

    She really does miss Joe!! Great job with the catchlight! I think you did a really good job with the focus especially since your SS is at 1/13. You must have hands of steal! Try to remember to have it at least at 1/125. Don’t be afraid to bump up your ISO a little more, or even better, put that 50mm on and get your aperture down to 1.8 :O) The color looks really good, which is especially hard with a black coat like that!!

Leave a Reply

